Go to Our Main Site


Michael R. Bessner

Board President

Michael (Mike) was appointed as a Commissioner in January 2014 and serves as the President on the Board.  A resident of Pflugerville since 2004, Mike has been involved with the Pflugerville Chamber of Commerce since 2006. He is a Past Chairman and was a Board Member for 6 years. He retired from IBM Corporation with 20 years of service in 1996 and immediately began a career as a Financial Representative with MetLife.  He is now with Chisholm Trail Financial Group where he works as an Advocate with families and small businesses to develop financial strategies for their financial futures.  Mike and his wife, Deanna, have been married 38 years. They have 7 children, all of which graduated from schools in Pflugerville ISD.  Commissioner Bessner is a SAFE-D Certified Emergency Services Commissioner.


Rudolph Metayer Board SecretaryRudolph Metayer

Board Vice President

Rudolph (Rudy) was appointed as a Commissioner and sworn in January 2015 and currently serves on the Board as Vice President.  Rudy is the son of two Haitian immigrants and the first generation in his family to graduate from college as well as law school.  He has been a tireless advocate in the community speaking and working on a host of issues ranging from teaching at-risk children, to creating an honor code for the University of Texas, to creating pro bono legal advice clinics for U.S. Military veterans.  Rudy has served as attorney for both public and private entities and currently serves as Special Counsel to the Health and Human Services Commission.  With a passion for public service, Rudy serves on several local and state committees and boards including Pflugerville Community Development Corporation and Hendrickson High School Campus Advisory.  Rudy earned his BA in Government and Philosophy from the University of Texas at Austin and his Juris Doctor Degree for the University of Texas School of Law.  Rudy resides in Pflugerville with his wife and 3 children. 


Maize Hamilton

Board Secretary

Maize Hamilton was sworn in as a Commissioner in February 2016 to finish the service term of the late Commissioner Terry Struble, who served as board President.  Maize served along with Struble as a Commissioner from 2006-2013, and will serve as board secretary through 2016, when Commissioner Struble’s term was set to finish.

Maize has served as a Board Member on SAFEPLACE and volunteers in many other organizations.  Maize and her family have resided in the Pflugerville community for over twenty years. 

Maize strongly supports the vision and mission of ESD #2, and looks forward to the opportunity to serve the community where she works and lives.  She is honored to finish the service term of Commissioner Struble.

Pflugerville Fire Department Board of Commissioner Mike Howe 

Mike Howe

Board Treasurer 

Mike served 18 years on the District’s Board of Commissioners and was reappointed in January 2014 after a two year hiatus.  During those two years, Mike remained active helping the District establish the FirstIn Pfoundation in the role of Board President.  Mike’s accomplishments include being the Charter President of the State Association of Fire and Emergency Districts (SAFE-D) which is the only association of ESD’s in Texas and the primary source of training for Fire Commissioners as well as developing the TXWARN utility to utility mutual aid program in conjunction with a number of other water and wastewater associations in Texas, the TCEQ and the State Emergency Operations Center.  Mike also served six years as the President of the Wells Branch Municipal Utility District.  Mike is a former producer/director for KVUE Television. He is a nationally recognized expert and instructor in risk communication as well as a trained public policy mediator and negotiator.  Mike is the Executive Director of the 3,300 member Texas Section of the American Water Works Association. AWWA sets standards for protection of public health in drinking water systems, provides certification training, and represents utilities and suppliers to the water industry.  Mike has lived in the Austin area for over 40 years and is a graduate of the University Of Texas School of Communication.

Rico Reyes

Assistant Board Treasurer

Rico was appointed to the Board and sworn in February 2015 as the Board's Assistant Treasurer.  Rico has a strong family foundation built on community and believes in civic involvement, community stewardship and leadership by example.  He has been an advocate for children's rights, veterans, and crime prevention.  Rico served as a Major in the Marine Corps, Deputy Staff Judge Advocate in Africa and Officer-in-Charge of the Civil Law Section at Camp Lejeune before serving as Assistant District Attorney for Travis County.  Rico is currently in private practice in commercial and general business litigation.  Helping others achieve their dreams, Rico participates in a number of organizations in Pflugerville.  He is a founding member of American Legion in Pflugerville, a member of the Knights of Columbus and member of the Rotary Club.  He also serves on the Board for Travis County Appraisal District and is the District Committee Chair for Boy Scouts of America.  Rico earned his BA in Government from Harvard University, Marine Corps Command and Staff College and his MBA and Juris Doctor from the University of Texas at Austin.  Rico has resided in Pflugerville for more than 10 years with his wife and daughters.


 Terry StrublePflugerville Fire Board of Commissioners President Terry Struble

 Board President from 1991 to December 23, 2015

 His dedication and service to the District and to the community is an inspiration to all of us.

Copyright © 2012 Travis County ESD No. 2 / Pflugerville Fire Department. All Rights Reserved.

Website Design by Zack Esgar

Facebook Image